h1

The Grim Reaper MLP – Making of

February 17, 2009

This was my second my little pony customisation. I decided to do the grim reaper, but not just your generic one – this is the my little pony grim reaper. He’s cute, colourful and just a little sassy. He also enjoys a hot cup of coffee in the morning and horse rides on the beach….. possibly.  This is just a general ‘making of’. If you have any specific questions feel free to give me a shout or post a comment 🙂

I’m going to be posting re-rooting, tail and various other tutorials soon!

Keeping the hair out of the way with plait bands. Started the undercoat - work in small areas. You get a much more even tone that way rather than just sloshing paint about.

Keeping the hair out of the way with plait bands. Started the undercoat - work in small areas. You get a much more even tone that way rather than just sloshing paint about.I use system 3 acrylics. Get a good consistency - it should be slightly watery.

Use a tiny brush for details like the curves. It normally takes quite a few coats to get a good even coverage. Wait for it to dry in between layers.

Use a tiny brush for details like the curves. It normally takes quite a few coats to get a good even coverage. Wait for it to dry in between layers.

Yay! Pony fully painted. The hair here looks awesome, I'm going to get the windswept look going on another one at some point.

Yay! Pony fully painted. The hair here looks awesome, I'm going to get the windswept look going on another one at some point. Again use a tiny brush for painting the edges, a larger one works better to even everything out. It also looks a bit like a mexican wrestler here...

I made the reaper man up in sections and smoothed them on to each other. I then carefully sat him on the horse, arranged and smoothed him down some more. To get the cape to look a bit windswept I added wire on the sides.

I made the reaper man up in sections and smoothed them on to each other. I then carefully sat him on the horse, arranged and smoothed him down some more. To get the cape to look a bit windswept I added wire on the sides.

after painting the reaper man and finally sealing the whole thing I'm done! The reaper man's eyes have tiny blue dots (terry pratchett thing)

After painting the reaper man and finally sealing the whole thing I'm done! The reaper man's eyes have tiny blue dots (terry pratchett thing). I washed the pony's hair with a dab of conditioner after sealing just in case it messed the paint up.

Leave a Reply

